Nursery ideas and wood issues…

As soon as I found out we were having a girl I went on a nursery ideas pinning-spree. Because obviously. One thing I was sure of was that I didn’t want a pink-splosion. I know we’re having a girl, and I’m not opposed to pink, and I’m sure she will have and wear lots of pink… but there is no need to make her room feel like it is dripping in pepto bismol. B has thanked me for this opinion.

We plan to leave the room as-is in terms of painting. I love the grey and the stripes and I think it will make a great nursery. As a refresher… this is what we are working with.

IMG_7436

 

When I started scrolling through nurseries on pinterest I found myself quickly drawn to nurseries that featured soft/cool colors like blue and aqua and sea foam green. Which I guess shouldn’t be a surprise because looking at our house, it is clear I favor those colors (albeit in a bit more saturated hues) anyways. These were my favorites… aqua with accents of pink and maybe gold.

Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 7.42.26 PM Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 7.42.13 PM Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 7.41.59 PM

 

Since we are leaving the walls grey, we’ll need to work the aqua in with window treatments and bedding and other accents, but I’m feeling confident in the basic color scheme. What I am not feeling confident in is furniture choices. All of my favorite nurseries featured white cribs with white or painted furniture. Which is weird, because generally I strongly favor dark wood. But something about dark wood in a little girl’s nursery just looks off to me…

Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 7.37.26 PM Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 7.34.12 PM

 

Just seems a bit too… grown up maybe? Or startling with all the other soft tones? Especially in a room that so heavily features grey, I worry that brown wood tones will clash with all the grey and white.

So, easy enough, we just order a white crib right? Except it isn’t that easy. We have to think about matching the crib to the rest of the furniture in the room, which at a minimum will include a dresser and book case. To further complicate matters, B’s dad has offered to make us a piece of nursery furniture. He does wood working as a hobby, and makes really high quality beautiful pieces. Which means I really hate to have him paint a beautiful piece of heirloom quality furniture. It just feels like good quality furniture should be stained, not painted, right?

So our options are:

1) Go with my nursery preference– white/painted furniture throughout and deal with trying to work that piece of furniture (he’ll be making either the bookcase or the dresser) into future rooms full of dark wood furniture

2) Go with my household preference and stick with dark wood throughout so everything will match when the room is done being a nursery

3) Try to convince myself that a white crib doesn’t clash with a (non-painted) wood bookcase or dresser (and I’ve never really been good at layering in different pieces in a way that makes sense).

First world problems, I’m well aware. And yet a decision needs to be made. I am accepting opinion and suggestions for anyone that has thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Nursery ideas and wood issues…

  1. Congratulations! I haven’t checked my reader for awhile so i had no idea :)
    I’ll be watching your nursery makeover with keen interest, I love your grey walls and stripes… I’d like to do something similar for my own nursery down the line.

  2. I like the idea of the white and wood mixed – I’m a fan of mixed furniture tones in rooms, though! I picture something like your third inspiration pic – the chair is a really pretty light wood shade that looks fantastic with the white. Something like that could be perfect!

Leave a Reply

