Progress

So, I haven’t exactly been racing along the weight loss path. In a bit over 5 months I’ve lost a little more than 15 pounds. Good, but not great. Surprisingly, I’ve not yet given up. Usually I lose 10 pounds, get bored, and quit. This is the first time in years I’ve actually stayed on the (semi)healthy bandwagon for more than a couple of months.

Most exciting thing though: today I jogged 20 minutes! Without stopping! On April 1 I started this c25k jogging program and was really not sure I was going to make it through. I’m still not done yet– the ultimate goal is to run 30 minutes without stopping–but I’m doing better than I expected. I never thought that I would be able to just jog. And chat. And then keep jogging… for 20 whole minutes.

Every time I go out, I try to add 1 or 2 minutes to my time. If I keep this up, in just 2-3 weeks I should be jogging for 30 minutes straight! I think this is so exciting because I have always kind of sucked at health goals. School goals, career goals, cleaning goals, even personal goals– I kind of rock those. Health goals, not so much. I am not sure I have ever even really tried to meet one other than losing weight. So when I reach this, it’ll be pretty big. Stay tuned for celebration party invitations!

3 thoughts on “Progress

  1. That freaking rocks! Look at you, little missy! Using me as a guinea pig, and now passing me up like crazy!

    I think it’s totally my turn to be inspired by you! Keep going, you and I both know you can do it!

    Do you have any plans to sign up for any 5k’s? You totally should!

    Congrats, and you totally rock! 🙂

  2. Thanks! And this totally works both ways. If one of us can do it, with both can! It’s so great you’re getting back on the jogging wagon– I think we both have a habit of falling off and never trying again.

    I haven’t signed up for any 5Ks yet, although I’d like to. There is the one at the Ohio State Fair that I’m considering, but it’s the first week of August and I’m just so scared to run my first race in that kind of heat! Maybe I should just get over it and sign up though….

  3. “Maybe I shoudl just get over it and sign up though…” – Um, yeah, you think?! 🙂

    I have a 5k the first weekend in August, so you can too. They are usually so early in the morning that it’s not that hot out anyway. If there’s a little piece of you that wants to do it, then do it. Don’t let the heat (or any other lame excuse :-)) keep you from achieving your goals, girl!

    Sign up for that 5k!

    Keep it up!
    Anna

Leave a Reply

