i rock.

So as I may have mentioned… or bitched about… a time or two… I started c25k on April 1, 2009. The idea was that you could go from being mostly sedentary to jogging for 30 minutes straight in 10 weeks.

Well…. that didn’t happen. I followed the plan, repeating weeks as necessary, until I got to the week where it told me I was going to jog 20 minutes straight. And I said ummm NO. Because asking a person to go from jogging 10 minutes twice to 20 minutes solid is a BIG FREAKIN JUMP. So I decided to just take it at my own pace, and every week try to do a little better. Which would’ve been a great excuse for me to give up in the past. But I didn’t!!

I kept going and going and going. And today? I jogged 30 minutes. No stopping. Holy Crap! I have to admit, I am SHOCKED that I did it. Like seriously, I never really thought I’d be able to jog for 30 minutes without stopping. Please recall that my first day of this I only had to jog for 60 seconds at a time and I honestly thought I would die. But I didn’t. And I kept going. And it took me over 15 weeks… and I met my goal!

I think this is so exciting to me because this is the first time I’ve EVER set a fitness goal and met it. It gives me hope that I’m capable. That I might actually stick with the weight loss thing this time. That I won’t just lose 20 pounds and then gain it right back. So today? Was a GOOD DAY.

4 thoughts on “i rock.

  1. Holy cow! I cannot WAIT until I can post something similiar!

    I also found that the C25K plan was too…uh…FAST for me.

    Congrats, girlie!

  2. YAY! I’m so proud. I still remember that first jog day… lol…. you’ve come a long way! also, when the post title was “I rock”… I thought the post would be about cruefest. oh well… 😉

Leave a Reply

