New toy and kitchen disaster… how do I screw this up?

Today I got my new point and shoot camera! It has been years since I have used one of these, so I was really excited to get it out of the box and play with it. I was pleasantly surprised by how well the pictures I took with it turned out, even with almost no practice. I won’t bore with the details, but I am so excited about my new toy!

It especially came in handy tonight to document my kitchen disaster. See.. I’ve been craving chocolate cake for a long time now. But I didn’t want to bake a whole cake because then I would…. eat a whole cake. So at target today I grabbed a package of, what else:
DSC00038

I’ve tried these before and it was really good! But then I saw this:
DSC00041

And I thought…
DSC00042

Chocolate… Kahlua… how can this possibly be bad??
DSC00043

That’s how. Betty lied, that Bitch. I mean I guess maybe Kahlua isn’t “irish cream”… but it’s the same basic taste. And how does it make it explode?? I tried microwaving it for another 30 seconds but it just got more bubbly and burnt smelling. Ew.

So much for chocolate cake. Lucky for me, I live about 50 yards (literally) from a Dairy Queen, so I was able to get my chocolate fix:
DSC00051

Not quite the warm chocolate cake I had anticipated. But a junior twist cone with sprinkles is probably half the calories of what I’d planned, so I guess it all worked out for the best.

But seriously… how do I screw this up? I have issues with microwave foods, clearly. I think from now on I should stick to homemade, or take-out.

2 thoughts on “New toy and kitchen disaster… how do I screw this up?

  1. OMG…I love Warm Delights! I’ve never seen that happen before, but I’ve also only used water. I normally buy the “mini’s”, 100 calories of chocolate raspberry goodness!

    I wouldn’t take it as an assault on your culinary skills…sometimes stuff like that happens! 🙂

  2. OO I didn’t see the minis! I’ll have to look for those. I bought this one once before and it was just fine… but I used water. I think Betty is in a conspiracy to make you ruin your dessert with liquor so you have to buy another one.

Leave a Reply

