Milestone moment?

In my opinion, there is a time for certain things. For example, when I was a junior in high school (much to my mother’s dismay) I returned a beautiful purple strapless dress in favor of a hot pink backless two-piece dress with silk flowers sewn on it. But my point was… when else could I EVER wear that dress except when I was 16? Surprisingly enough… just a few months ago I was looking at some old photos with my mom and she commented that I was right, the dress was perfect for that dance and she was glad that I’d worn it. (Yay for me… not too often that my mom admits I was right about something).

The next summer I dyed my hair pink (and for a few summers after that right up until I started law school actually), and I’m glad I did. but I’m over it.

When I was 18 I got my nose pierced. But we’ll get back to that.

Before all of those things though, I got my belly-button pierced. I was 16 and one day my best friend and I decided we needed to get it done. My mom took us and signed for us, and it was done! I was pretty thin then, but I still didn’t make a habit of showing off my stomach. I kept saying I’d really love it once I was bikini-ready.

Well ummm I never got bikini ready. I’ve now had it pierced all this time and I have never been able to really show it off. I’ve thought about taking it out but I kept thinking that some day when I’m thin I’ll want to have it. Well ya know what? I’m 24 and I’m over having my belly button pierced. Even if I could wear a bikini tomorrow, I don’t really know that my belly button needs to be bedazzled. It hasn’t seen the sun in years and maybe it could use a little unobstructed sun. Not that it will get sun tomorrow. Or the day after. Maybe next summer. So, this morning I took it out. Which was weird… just giving it up like that. But I’m glad I did.

Then there is the nose piercing. I’ve had it done since I was 18 and I love it. I had to take it out for work for about 6 months and I loved having it done so much that I got it pierced again. And may I just say, OW. I just assumed that at some point I’d get a real job and have to take it out, but it turns out my boss doesn’t care! I take it out for court or when I’m meeting with certain clients, but other than that it stays in. But I’m starting to feel a little too old for it maybe? I know 24 isn’t exactly on the verge of being a geriatric, but there is a time for things ya know? And despite the fact that I love the look of it, I feel like the time for it may have been college and law school and now that I”m supposedly “professional” I should lose it.

Who knows. Maybe some day I’ll take it out for court and just forget to put it back in.

5 thoughts on “Milestone moment?

  1. haha I know… because I’ve had it done for 8 years and I never show it off! I think the only people who knew about it were the girl I got it done with, family, and boyfriends. 🙂

  2. Haha well it isn’t so much that I’m not being myself. I guess I just feel that “myself” is constantly changing and at this stage in my life (professional, relatively boring!) I’m somewhat over the hair dying and piercings. But maybe not the nose yet… it’s so cute!

  3. I (finally) took out my navel piercing about two years ago. I’d gotten when I was in college and had just never gotten around to taking it out. My nose I got pierced at like 22. Even though I’m 30 now, I can’t bring myself to get rid of it. It’s tiny so most people don’t even notice it, but to me it’s such a part of my face. I feel weird without it. And, I’ve had it for so long that I can leave it out for a week and still get the stud back in. I always tell myself that next time the stud falls down the sink drain or the stone falls out, that’s the end. What I’ve had to give up before they crossed the unprofessional line was getting tattoos. I only have two that are visible in regular clothing (wrist, and base of neck). I love them and would get lots more I didn’t also want to remain employable in corporate America 🙂
    -Angela

Leave a Reply

