Confession time: I watch tv. No really. TOO MUCH.

Especially since Tivo. I watch all of one show’s reruns, then I watch another show. I could give you a list of all the shows I have seen ALL of, but then you’d just realize how much of a loser I really am. I also have a serious soft spot for really bad sitcoms.

One of my huge pet peeves is when there are inconsistencies in shows. I feel like if I can remember details about a show… why do the writers not remember? I don’t know why it bothers me, it just seems LAZY. (Kind of like the kind of lazy you have to be to actually sit around and watch all these shows).

The one that is bothering me at the moment? In Yes, Dear (see: comment above about bad sitcoms) there is a flash-back episode about how Greg and Kim started dating and Greg says that Kim was his first-ever girlfriend. But I know that in another episode Kim got upset when she found out that Greg bought her engagement ring for the girlfriend before her.

Yep. I’m a loser. Both for watching the show and for noticing that. And most especially for being annoyed by it. But whatever. I’ve come to terms with my loser-ness.

Other random inconsistencies that come to mind:

That 70s Show: Donna has a little sister. Then she’s an only child.

Seinfeld: Jerry has a sister (mentions her in Chinese Restaurant episode I think). Then he doesn’t. + Jerry’s apartment gets a layout-change after the first season (notice placement of the bathroom and bedroom, where the bike is, and the slant of the all with the door.

Friends: In one episode Phoebe says she loves saltwater taffy. A few seasons later she claims to have never had it. (I know I’m being picky with this one, but whatever).

Roseanne: In the first episode David’s name is Kevin (although in one of the later seasons they make a joke about how Darlene changed David’s name because she didn’t like it. But still). Also, what ever happened to Crystal?

Everybody loves Raymond: In the pilot the twins names are Matthew and Gregory; subsequently their names are Michael and Geoffery. + the house of both Ray and the parents are totally different lay-outs in the first v. subsequent episodes.

Okay I’ve embarrassed myself enough now.

Leave a Reply

