Buffalo Chicken Pizza

Also known as… the best pizza ever made. Seriously, I make a lot of pizza, and a lot of it is really good… but this pizza? THE BEST. It is based on a pizza that B and I had for the first time at Mellow Mushroom in Atlanta when visiting our good friends. Turns out that Mellow Mushroom is a chain and there is one in Columbus… but we actually like my version better!

To start, boil and shred or chop up some chicken into little pieces (I used 4 chicken breast tenders… this is probably 1 large breast or 2 small ones). I forgot to take a picture of this. Oops. Put the chicken in a bowl and add enough wing sauce coat the chicken really well. You don’t want a dry chicken pizza… and we aren’t using any sauce on the pizza so really lay it on. I think I used about half a cup. We really love Quaker Steak and Lube’s Arizona Ranch sauce… they sell it in the grocery store!! Please excuse my half-chipped off nail polish.
DSC00229

Also slice some onions really thin and saute them in cooking spray or a little vegetable oil. This is about half a small onion.
DSC00230

Spray a pizza crust with nonstick cooking spray, and then dump the chicken right on. You don’t need to put any extra sauce on the crust.. don’t want it to be soggy and the sauce from the chicken kind of spreads around.
DSC00227

Add the cooked onions
DSC00235

And some banana peppers
DSC00234
DSC00236

Now add a little ranch… you really don’t need much. I have no idea how much this is because I just squeezed it from the bottle onto the pizza, but I’d bet somewhere around 1/8 cup
DSC00237

And lastly, some cheese. I don’t know why I use sliced instead of shredded cheese… I think it is what I had on hand the first time I made this and the provolone was so good that I buy this every time now.
DSC00232
DSC00238

Then just pop it in the oven according to the directions on whatever crust you’re using, and pull it out when it looks like this
DSC00239

And that’s it! Give it a try… it is SO good. This doesn’t exactly qualify as a diet meal because the sauce, ranch, and cheese kind of ruin it… but this pizza is worth an occasional splurge.

Ingredients:
1 pizza crust
4 chicken tenders
1/2 onion, sliced thin
1/2 cup banana peppers
1/2 cup buffalo wing sauce
1/8 cup ranch
7 slices provolone cheese
cooking spray

One thought on “Buffalo Chicken Pizza

Leave a Reply

