Chicken Tacos

Holy cow two posts in one day… crazy right? Well… not so much because they’re really both just show and tell. 🙂

I hesitate to even call this a recipe because it is just so easy… but it is also SO good. We don’t even make ground meat tacos with that sad little packet of taco seasoning anymore. I always thought that I loved tacos that way… until I didn’t have ground meat or taco seasoning and wanted tacos. Being too lazy to go to the grocery (they say that necessity is the mother of invention… in my case it is always the lazy…), here is what I came up with. I’m just going to show how to make the filling because no one needs pictures of how to put meat in a taco shell right? mmk.

As with most of my recipes, start with about a pound of chicken. I prefer to boil and chop it up into tiny pieces… but feel free to cook it however you like.
DSC00251

Chop up about half an onion into a medium dice, and throw it into a saute pan on medium heat. You can use oil if you’d like, I think cooking spray works fine and has no calories!
DSC00253

When the onions are translucent and starting to brown just a bit, add a can of diced green chilis. These are a must-have for any mexican-type food, I put them in everything.
DSC00252
DSC00254

Saute this mixture for a few minutes, then add the chicken. Add garlic powder, chili powder, and cumin.
DSC00256

Now mix everything together and get it heated through. It might not look pretty, but I promise you it is delicious!
DSC00257

Ingredients:
1 lb chicken, shredded or chopped
1/2 onion diced
1 can diced green chilis
1/2 tspn garlic powder
1 tspn chili powder
1 tspn cumin

Leave a Reply

