The Birthday Post

Well… I was waiting to write about my birthday until I had my photos developed, but they’re now developed and they suck! Turns out that you CAN take pictures with an underwater plastic disposable camera… but you really shouldn’t. Now I know.

We planned to do at least one excursion while on vacation and my birthday seemed like the perfect time. We went to the excursion office to talk about our options, and we picked an all-day excursion to Las Caletas. The excursion was to include snorkeling, kayaking, and a jungle tour.

The rough part was that we had to catch a cab to the marina by 8am. I am NOT a morning person so having to set an alarm on my birthday made me a little cranky, but I quickly got over it. After a half hour trip to the marina, we found our tour booth and got checked in. There were people there with a parrot… too cute.
Not a fantastic picture… but it makes me laugh. Also keep in mind we were going snorkeling so this is totally sans makeup!

I was super excited at this point but B was a little tired..

I got even more excited when we saw this pirate ship. Confession: I love Gene Simmons’ Family Jewels. On an episode recently they went to PV and they rode on this pirate ship! So cool that we were exactly where they were filming.

Next up was the boat to Las Caletas. It was an hour down the coast. At the start of the trip I was happy and feeling pretty good..

Note B’s peeling forehead… poor boy. Then I remembered that I get sea-sick… oy! Lucky there was no… erm…. puking. But I was not feeling fabulous.

Immediately when we got to Las Caletas they sent us up the hill to get snorkeling gear. At some point I realized that I had come to Mexico during the Swine Flu crazies and was about to put a piece of used plastic in my mouth from a big bucket… but I decided to just roll with it!

First thing I learned about snorkeling: flippers are hard to work! They’re a lot flimsier than you would think and I kept tripping over myself. Second thing I learned about snorkeling: Those masks are annoying! I had such a hard time keeping it on correctly so that I could breath without getting salt water in my mouth… blech. B said that he was having a really hard time too and he has snorkeled before, so I wonder if their snorkeling gear was different than most?

Regardless.. snorkeling was a ton of fun and HARD work. We followed the instructor all the way up the coast. I kept forgetting to keep my head underwater… such a strange thing this snorkeling. It was sooo cool though when I would remember. I’d just be swimming along and remember to stick my head down… then woah! A whole school of tropical fish! I tend to forget that the ocean has so many creatures because you just don’t see them that often. Some people were able to dive down but I was not quite that advanced! The instructor did dive down and brought up a sea urchin for us to hold which was very cool.

By the time I swam back to shore my legs were TIRED. Swimming that far, even with (or maybe especially with?) flippers is seriously hard work. My legs were buttah. B made it back before me and my hopes of relaxing for a few minutes were dashed when they announced it was time for KAYAKING!

Now… B was super excited to kayak whereas I was scared. I kept thinking that we were going to flip over and I wouldn’t be able to get back on, but B assured me that we’d be fine so I jumped on board. It was actually surprisingly easy to stay upright! I hate to admit when B is right… heh. The kayak was a great rest for our legs but now it was time for our arm workout! We had some trouble staying in sync but for kayak-virgins I think we did pretty darn good! We paddled all the way down to an adjacent beach and docked on the sand. We got to spend a blissful few minutes relaxing on the beach and there was a guy there playing with his dog in the ocean… so cute and made me miss Stew!

Once we arrived back at Las Caletas in the kayaks it was time for the Jungle Trek. Our guide was a lot of fun and showed us so many cool things. Like this huuuuuge spider that he wanted us to hold. B wanted to but I put the kaibosh on that because I didn’t want it anywhere near me! haha

After our tour we headed over to get lunch. It was surprisingly good! Just a buffet but I was able to get a margarita and the food was tasty. Plus it was nice to just sit and relax for a bit… I thought I was going to fall asleep in my food!

Soon after we heard that they had a monkey on the other side of the resort area so we had to check it out for ourselves. Now… I can’t believe I’m even posting these photos because they are so. bad. But– please keep in mind… this is post snorkeling, kayaking, and jungle trekking. I had not seen a mirror in hours. I was too tired to notice my bandana was falling of my head (and I have no idea why B did not tell me this… heh)…. so ummm yea. Bad pics… but cool stuff!

It was time to head back to the boat and I was a bit nervous about getting sea-sick.. but once again I made it back without serious incident. When we finally got back to our hotel room and showered we just laid… for hours. We were too tired to sleep even! Call me weird but laying around watching mtv with B for a few hours was really the perfect late afternoon activity to me.

To finish off the night we decided to get dressed up and go to dinner at the nicest restaurant at the resort, Portofino. Holy cow was the food there good!! We had been there once earlier in the week and we were super impressed with our meals. This time I bravely ventured out getting new things (this is huge for me because usually when I find something I like I stick with it) and it was SO. GOOD. Is it weird that one of my favorite italian meals I’ve ever eaten was in Mexico? I started with a tomato basil salad, got a spicy pasta for my entree, and had tiramisu for my birthday desert. Almost too pretty to eat… almost!

We got our waiter to take a photo of us at the end of the night which turned out to be my favorite pic of us from the whole trip… even though it kind of looks like I’m naked. Note to self: do not wear a maxi-dress and lean behind a table for pics.

All in all… my 25th birthday was pretty fabulous. I got to do three things I’d never done before: snorkel, kayak, and hold a monkey. I got to go out to a fabulous dinner. And I got to spend the whole day with my brand new fiance! (That word still sounds so weiiiiird.)

2 thoughts on “The Birthday Post

  1. Yay for your birthday! But, dude, warn a girl when you’re going to have creepy crawlies on the page! I just about jumped out of my skin when I scrolled down. LOL 🙂

  2. haha sorry! Just imagine how I felt though! Exhausted, weary, and BAM big ass spider 1 foot from my face that the guide is trying to talk me into touching. no THANKYOU. heh.

Leave a Reply

