Photo Tutorial… why editing is important

Until Spring 2008, I was a die-hard film user. I thought digital photos were cheating… if you can’t get it right in a click you don’t deserve to have nice photos. Then I realized how much money i was wasting in film and how far digital cameras have come! Now I am digital-only and I’ve even given into editing. I still try to get a photo as perfect as possible SOOC (straight out of camera), but I think effects are fun.

Here is a fun (and SO fast) tutorial for macbook users. I do all of my editing right now in the free photo program iphoto. If you have a macbook and you don’t use iphoto effects, you are really missing out!! See what I can do with one photo in less than 60 seconds each.

Original:

It’s okay. I like the composition, I like the pose… but there is nothing special about it. Let’s crop a little (click edit, crop, and drag the box around the section you want to keep, then click “apply”)

Cropped:

Better. It is more centered and there is nothing in the photo except my subjects (who, by the way, are my brother and his fiance during the engagement shoot I did for them last month)

Now, let’s just make the photo pop a bit:

Edit > Effects > Boost Color > Edge blur, then Adjust > pull the exposure bar up just a tiny bit — that is it!! 30 seconds and the photo is so much better.

What if we want it to look antiquey and romantic:

(starting from original) Edit > Effects > Antique > Fade, then Adjust > pull up the exposure bar a tiny bit.

Or what if we want it to look REALLY old:

(starting from original) Edit > Effects > Sepia > Fade > Fade, then Adjust > pull up the exposure bar a tiny bit

One photo five ways in less than five minutes. Give it a try with your Christmas photos and see what you can come up with!

2 thoughts on “Photo Tutorial… why editing is important

  1. Thanks for this really easy to use tutorial. I know so many people who are afraid to edit photos. I’ll be sending my edit-phobic friends here to get started.

Leave a Reply

