A tour

Three posts in two days… holy cow, right?

Anyways, my MOH (maid of honor) pointed out after my last post that I still haven’t shared pics of most of my house with anyone. I first realized it two weekends ago when I went home and my family asked to see the place, only to realize I hadn’t actually taken pics! I was kind of waiting until the place was “done” because we haven’t decorated most of it (or even finished unpacking), but let’s face it. I have a wedding to plan, we’re both working full time, and its getting to be that time of year where we want to spend more time outside and less time inside. The house probably isn’t getting decorated this year.

So I thought I might as well take some pics tonight, and as long as I took them why not share them right?

I’m sure I’ve mentioned… but our house is kind of a weird floor plan. It is a five level split, which I had not heard of before we looked at this place. Basically if you looked at our house straight-on and drew a vertical line splitting the place in half, there would be a total of 5 levels with a half flight of stairs between each. On one side the basement/main floor/extra bedrooms are stacked, on the other side the “man cave” and master level are stacked.

Let’s begin! When you walk in the front door the first thing you see is the dining room.

I’ve already shown this off, but now we have some stuff on the walls. A cool plate/art thingy on one and a painting my dad did on the other. This is the only room that feels totally DONE to me… I love it! The only thing I’ll do at some point is get some kind of centerpiece.

Also, note: I walked around and took pics exactly as the house is… so excuse the fact that the napkins are all off to one side and parts of the rest of the house are kind of messy!

You walk down the hallway and the next stop is the kitchen. I still love the green, but I really need to decorate the top of the cabinets!

Beyond the kitchen is the great room, probably my favorite room in the house. The couch we picked out fits the room like it was made for it, and it is so comfy!

Here is the view from the other side of the room, looking back towards the kitchen. You can also see the railing to the loft above. I really want to put something on that wall to the right of the TV, and decorate the mantel. No ideas though.

If we head back towards the kitchen there is a half bath and half flights that go down to the man cave, and up to the master level.

Let’s head downstairs to the man cave. I gave B 100% control over how he decorated the ‘cave… although I did give a few suggestions for color. From the stairs:

This is truly a MAN’s cave. Note the video game nerdiness (although I have to admit I actually like the guitars on the wall!)

And the nerf hoop

Here is the view from the TV. He really needs to get something on this wall… but its so huge that we have no idea what to put there.

There is also a cool little nook that will eventually hold a poker table… but that is probably a post-wedding purchase. For right now it is a bit… sparse?

Last cool thing about the man cave is the cat door that we had B’s dad put in between the ‘cave and the basement. Unfortunately there is still a Stew v. cats battle happening… but at least they have the OPTION to come upstairs whenever they get the nerve.

Let’s head back upstairs and up one half-flight of stairs from the kitchen to the master level. The bedroom right now is EXTREMELY boring because we have done absolutely nothing to it.

Another view from in front of the dresser. Even our bedding is white… we really need help!

It isn’t really as narrow as it looks, but I had to use a wide-angle lens for these photos to get whole rooms in one pic, and it makes things kind of stretched out.

And by the way… even though I bought Stew a super pretty and comfy-looking bed:

He kind of stole one of our down comforters, and made it his bed. We call it the corgi nest, and its in the corner of the our bedroom.

Oh well.

You saw the bathroom earlier:

But you didn’t see my FAVORITE part

And here is our closet… I’m actually caught up on laundry– so exciting! Even though it looks kind of messy its actually well organized. We each have our half and our clothes are organized by type. I’m pretty impressed with myself that this has been maintained for 2+ months!

If you head up another half-flight of stairs, you’ll see our loft. We have it set up as kind of a reading nook. Eventually I’d like to get some cute accent chairs or something for the nook, but for right now a papison will have to do.

Over the railing you get the arial view of our great room

If you head down that hallway off to the side, you’ll pass the laundry room (no pictures needed I don’t think) and come to the office. This is the least unpacked room. I think that the file cabinet might be upside down. B’s CFA stuff is EVERYWHERE. Oh well… we’ll get it put together at some point.

There’s also another bathroom

And a guest bedroom

All hand-me-down furniture in here and its pretty sparse. I would love to put a sitting area in that back nook area, but that is just going to have to wait! Eventually our bedroom furniture will get moved in here and we’ll get a new King sized set for our bedroom.

Last up is my sewing room, which is semi-unpacked and has become the repository for all of my decorating stuff. It isn’t that I don’t have stuff (clearly)… its that I don’t know where to put it. I need one of the TLC decorator people to come in and fix my house for me I think.

Excuse B hanging out in the background. He likes to sit in there on the couch to study for the CFA because my “desk” isn’t so much a desk but a too-small table and its really uncomfortable for his 6’3″ frame. A desk is also on our list of must-buys.

Last pic is of our teeny tiny back yard. I actually like the size because it is big enough for Stew but not too much to take care of. We plan to fence it SOON I hope. Our property line ends at the first set of trees there. Also, see how they put the sod in and you can still see the squares? Kind of makes me laugh.

Whew, I think that is it. Lots of pics and the best tour I can give in pictures. We still have a lot of work to do, but I’m really happy with how what we have done has come together. Plus, it is kind of nice that we still have such a long list of to-do stuff because what fun would it be to have everything done all at once? After the wedding is over, I’m going to need a new project. Watch out, B!

6 thoughts on “A tour

  1. I LOVE your house! It’s so cute, and I really like the unique layout of it with all the levels – so cool! You’ve done a great job decorating so far!!

  2. 1. I meant to comment previously that I hate the USPS office that I have to go to. They are BEYOND rude and in absolutely no rush – especially when *I* am.

    2. I’m completely impressed that you just ignore the toothbrush battle going on in your bathroom. You’re a far better woman than I – Jack would have heard about that on day two, probably! lol. You guys will be fine, I know it. πŸ™‚

    3. I hope it’s not completely stalkerish that I wish I could see your house in person. That floor plan is way confusing, but also really cool! I love your dining room and the green in the kitchen is PERFECT with those super dark cabinets. LOVE IT.

    πŸ™‚ Anna

  3. @amanda- thanks! i appreciate the compliment because I feel like I suck at decorating πŸ™‚ In my last place I handed my mom my credit card, gave her a limit, and told her to go to town. I’m pretty sure that might be happening again in this house haha.

    @Anna- you should totally come to cbus and we can beat up postal workers together! or ya know… let me know if you ever decide to run a 5k here and maybe i’ll join you and you can see my confusing house. that might be a bit more reasonable (and less illegal) haha

  4. It’s a beautiful house! You guys have so much space!

    You know, I think it takes a LONG time to really make a house your own. I was constantly doing stuff just in my tiny apartment, and I lived there for 9 years. B and I moved into our place in October, and still have barely decorated.

    And girl, nice job with the closet. My closet is about that size, maybe a little smaller, and I CANNOT keep it organized! The format is pretty much the same as yours, just the bar and the shelf above it, and I desperately need some organization going on underneath the bar. But I don’t really want to spend much money on it because it isn’t our place, you know?

    Anyway, LOVE your house! Especially the kitchen….the green looks great in there!

  5. Hey-Thanks for stopping by my blog! Can I just say, your house is GORGEOUS! Owning something that doesn’t share walls or floor with other people’s abode is my greatest dream right now. Getting the bf moving on that is another story.

  6. @jem- thanks! I think you’re right about it taking time. I just have issues with patience. πŸ™‚

    @Angela- Thanks! Bfs are hard like that haha. I started talking about buying a house on my own last spring and that was what got B to be on board with the house thing… he figured I would either do it alone and he’d be stuck with my choice or we could do it together and he’d have input! Luckily we agreed on 95% of our priorities when it came to buying a house…. I’ve heard that the home-buying process can be pretty sucky for some couples if they disagree on what they want!

Leave a Reply

