Failure and victory (and failure and victory), dinner style.

One thing I haven’t talked about in a long time (let’s face it I haven’t talked about much in a long time) is my weight. In January of 2009, I started a weight loss plan in conjunction with a running plan, and by July I had lost 20 pounds. I was so proud of myself!

Then, inexplicably, I stopped. By the time I went on vacation at the end of October I’d gained 10 of the 20 back. Sigh.

Then I got engaged. GREAT motivation to jump start me back into healthy living, right?

No.

I got busier, and lazier, and I gained the other 10 back. Epic fail.

About two weeks ago I started back in with the working out, and this time B is going with me. And by going with me, I mean DRAAAAAGGING my butt out of bed at 6:30 to go work out. Because at 6:30am I’d rather be 400 pounds then get out of bed to work out. The guy has some SERIOUS patience with me.

So working out? Mostly only track. Eating… that is still the struggle. Every day is a battle. Some days I win, and some days I lose.

I’m not really sure if I won or lost today. I had a healthy breakfast and lunch… but dinner…..?

B let me know that he’d be home late and not to worry about him for dinner. I decided to head to Target to pick up some essentials (read: peruse their home decor section and get some mascara and a binder thingy for wedding stuff), and by the time I was done I was starving.

Rather than come home and make myself something, I decided to pick something up on my way home.

Fail.

I almost stopped at Burger King. Then I almost stopped at Arbys. But then I decided to go to Steak Escape because their grilled chicken buffalo sub is actually not-too-terrible for you.

Win.

But then I decided if I was going to Steak Escape, there was no way I was going to be able to resist the Fries… and I wasn’t really going to try.

Fail.

So I thought… if I’m definitely going to get the fries, I can at least forgo the sub to save me a few hundred calories.

Draw. (Win on calories. Fail on nutrition)

Then I got a coke.

Massive fail (but at least it was the smallest size).

But, when I got home I only ate the fries until I wasn’t hungry anymore and threw the rest away, along with about half the coke.

Win.

So yea… I don’t know. Probably more fail than not… because fries for dinner? Really?? But it could’ve been a lot worse.. I’m just sayin’. It’s going to be a bumpy road.

Leave a Reply

