Random fact Fridays

Even though its now technically 20 minutes past Friday. And even though I probably won’t ever remember to do a random fact friday again…

Just saw a commercial for oreo cakesters and it reminded me of this random fact:

My dad plays the acoustic guitar and he’s kind of awesome. Never took any lessons and he can’t read music, but he can listen to a song then mimic it back. He loves to tell about how his parents bought him a guitar for Christmas when he was 12 but they got it on sale a few weeks (or months) early.

They worked late every day (they owned a fabric store) and every day after school he’d go into their room, unwrap the guitar, practice for a few hours, then replace it. Every day. Until Christmas day when they gave it to him and the packaging was all torn up from being done and undone… and magically their never-had-a-lesson-son was actually able to pick out a tune. I wonder how that happened?

Anyways, what does this have to do with Oreos?

The first thing my dad ever played for my mom on the guitar when they were dating was the Oreo song… the original Oreo song:

Do you know exactly how to eat an Oreo?
Well to do it, you unscrew it, very fast.
‘Cause a kid’ll eat the middle of an Oreo first
And leave the chocolate cookie outside for last.

I don’t know why that was the first thing he played… I never thought to ask!

So when I was growing up, my dad would play the guitar and sing at coffee houses on weekends for fun. Random assortments of our family and friends would go, and when I was in high school my friends would come too sometimes. And every time I had the same request: Oreo song! And he’d tell the story again.

Leave a Reply

