Invites!

I knew I’d DIY my invites from the time I got engaged. They’re a common DIY project because they’re usually relatively easy, an awesome way to save money, and (if you like crafty stuff) kind of fun to do. First I’ll show the finished product, and then show the how-to.

Note: I blurred out some of the info to protect our privacy… even though it pained me to do so after spending so much time making them pretty!



I LOVE them! So excited with how well they turned out. Oh, and if you see any typos? Don’t tell me. It’ll drive me nuts and it is too late to redo them. Thanks!

So now the how-to. These were actually super easy. Here are the tools you’ll need:
– a computer with a program like microsoft word
– a printer
– a paper cutter
– a corner rounder (if you want round corners)
– eyelet setter and eyelets
– hammer
– magazine
– glue stick
– sewing machine (if you want a tear-off RSVP)

First, design the template. I don’t know how to do any kind of graphic design, and I don’t have any programs more specialized than microsoft word, so I just made mine text-based. I started by figuring out what size envelope I wanted to use (I decided on A7, which is 5×7), and worked my way backwards from there.

This meant that the back cover and the RSVP page was 5×7, the Details page was 5×6.25, the Celebrate page was 5×5.5, and the front cover was 5×4.75. From there I just created boxes on microsoft word and typed in my text. I decided to print everything out onto 8.5×11 paper to save money and frustration trying to print on small paper.

Once the design process was over, I got to printing:

It took me two printer cartridges to do 70 invites + mistakes, but I might have used more because all of my text was blue or green (which is made with blue ink), so I really only ran out of blue. If you printed with black ink you could probably get through with one cartridge.

Next was the WORST step of the process, the cutting out. It took FOREVER. But, thank god for this thing:

If you’re planning to make invites, borrow or buy one. Do not rely on one of those little scrapbooking cutters… you’ll hate yourself and your life if you do. (I borrowed this one from work).

Once I had everything cut, I had to round all of the corners. No pictures for this, but I just used one of those little paper rounders you can buy from any craft store.

Next up was perforating the dotted line for the RSVP. I wanted it to be a tear-off postcard, so I knew I wanted to perforate it somehow. The solution was simple: I took all the thread out of my sewing machine and just sewed across the dotted line. Easy and fast!

I then assembled all of the pieces together, and punched a hole in the top left corner with my 1/4″ hole punch:

Next up was setting the eyelets, which is not as hard as you’d think. These are the tools you’ll need:

Eyelets (which come with backs), an eyelet setter, and a hammer.

Place the front part of the eyelet through the front of the invite, place the invite face-down, place the back of the eyelet over the metal that sticks through the hole, and place the eyelet setter into the hole as so:

From here, just hit with a hammer 5-10 times and the front of the eyelet will flatten over the back of the eyelet and secure it. A few notes on this process:
1- My invites were five cardstock pages thick, and this is definitely the maximum for regular 1/4″ eyelets. I think if I’d had one more page this would not have worked.

2- Take note of the surface you’re working on. It has to be hard enough that you can hammer on it, but not something that you care if it gets damaged (the eyelets are metal and will leave an impression on whatever they’re hammered onto). I placed them on top of a magazine on top of a coffee table. This gave me both the stability I needed to hammer, with a surface I didn’t care about ruining.

3- It took me about 30 invites before I really got the hang of the hammering. The trick is to hit the top of the eyelet setter hard enough. Seriously, you have to hit it hard. About 7 good whacks will flatten the eyelet out perfectly.

The last step of the process was using a glue stick to affix our name label to the front… no picture here because everyone knows what a glue stick is.

So– that is it! I still need to put stamps on the back of the RSVP cards and stuff them into envelopes, but mostly, they’re done!

Figuring out exactly what we spent on them is a little challenging because some of the supplies overlap with other projects. For example, the paper I bought only came in packages of 100. One pack of 100 of each the blue and cream cardstock was not enough, so I got two. But the leftovers will be used to make our programs and other signage. Nevertheless, I’ll post the full price of what I bought even if part of the package will be used for something else.

All of the items marked with a * below, though, are those that I have leftovers of. Using those supplies I’m able to make my programs, table numbers, signs for our faux-to-booth, guest book, and bar, and various other wedding projects.

Blue pearlescent cardstock*: $62 for 200 sheets (paperandmore.com)
Cream linen cardstock*: $32 for 200 sheets (paperandmore.com)
Champagne A7 envelopes: $28 for 100 (paperandmore.com)
Ink*: $40 for 1 cartridge (office max, I already had one cartridge at home)
Paper cutter: free (borrowed from work)
corner rounder: $6.99 (Hobby Lobby)
1/4″ hole punch: $4.99 (JoAnn Fabrics)
Eyelet setter with eyelets*: $9.99 (JoAnne Fabrics)
Sewing machine: Free (already owned it)
Glue stick*: $3.99 for two sticks (Michaels)

Grand total to make invites: $188 or $2.89 per invite

Postage for RSVP postcards: $18.20
Postage to mail invites: $39.65 (they are $0.61 to mail because they’re over 1 ounce)

Total for Invites: $245.85 or 3.78 per invite including postage

This is incredibly cheap for this type of invitations! Comparable invitations that I found online and used as inspiration were $7.50 per invite not including postage, which means I saved about $300 by DIY’ing. Worth it? I’d say so.

2 thoughts on “Invites!

  1. Ohh, your invites look great! And definitely worth it from a budget point of view too! I’m also planning on DIY-ing ours, but that won’t happen until the new year some time.

Leave a Reply

