Measuring: Kind of important.

Can you handle another post about curtains? It will be the last one for a while, I promise. So as I mentioned in this post, I didn’t go to Joanne’s planning to get a curtain rod and fabric for our great room curtains, but kind of decided spur-of-the-moment when I saw the great sales.

Maybe not my best idea.

See, I didn’t measure the windows before I went. I would have if I’d known I was going to buy drapes for that room, but I didn’t so I was winging it.

The first problem came not long after I posted about my awesome finds. I was talking to my mom on the phone and she asked how I planned to hang them. I mean… I knew the windows were tall. But I never REALLY sat down to think: How do I plan to screw four brackets in 14′ (as it turns out) up the wall?

So that problem has been on my mind for the past few days, until I found a potential solution yesterday. I was leaving my house and I saw a guy walking into the (for sale) house next door who looked like a painter. More than that, he looked like he spoke English (most of the workers you see around here are hispanic and I’ve found most of them do not speak hardly any english). So even though I was undecided about the fabric still, I decided to seize the opportunity and go talk to him. I asked him if he ever did side-jobs such as using his very tall ladder to hang someone’s curtains.

He came over and took a look and said he’s never done something like that before, but he had the ladder and he knows how to hang a curtain rod, so he’d do it for $40. Seemed like a great option because to buy a very tall ladder at Lowes would cost us at least $80 and neither of us love the idea of climbing up that far on a ladder to start with. We exchanged numbers and he said he works in the community most days of the week so to just give him a call whenever I wanted them hung.

Now that that problem was solved, I decided to actually measure the window, just to be sure my rod was big enough. *foreshadowing*

It was not. I got the biggest curtain rod Joanne’s offered, which extended up to 120″. That is 10′ wide and certainly SEEMED like it would be big enough. But alas, it is not. To cover the three windows I need drapes at least 124″ wide. FOUR INCHES. Sigh.

So now I have to return this rod to Joanne’s and go to Lowes, who carries bigger curtain rods. Oh, and figure out if I actually like this fabric well enough to use it while I’m at it. Because I’m completely incapable of picturing my ideas in my head, I decided to cobble together a photo-shopped’esc (I don’t have photoshop, so I used a combination of iPhoto, screen shots, and Paintbrush) photo of the room with the curtains. I hung the fabric from our loft so that I could take a picture of it from the other side of the room, then cut/pasted it in place. Not half bad considering my lack of skillz, if I do say so myself.

It’s still a *little* hard for me to tell because the picture is about 4″ by 6″ on my screen and in real life it’ll be… well… life sized. But it is the best I can do without actually getting up on a ladder and taping the fabric to the wall, which I can’t actually do because I don’t have a big enough ladder (see: above). Anyways, I think it has given me the confidence to go with it and use this fabric. It still might be a disaster but I certainly think I’ve done my due diligence in trying to figure out whether or not this fabric works without actually putting it up there.

What do you think, are you pro or anti this fabric? Has failed planning ever come back to bite you? Do you not care and just hope to God that my next post is about anything other than curtains?

I promise this is the last update until it is DONE which will probably be at least a week or two from now!

5 thoughts on “Measuring: Kind of important.

Leave a Reply

