Enough is enough.

Enough of what, exactly? Freaking mail. I’m over it. Ever since we bought the house, our junk mail has been increasing exponentially. I’m not even talking about things that I find moderately legitimate (if thoroughly annoying) like the incessant notices from my bank or credit card company about this change or that change or whatever.

I’m talking about flyers/ads, free magazines that we never asked or registered for, requests from charities for money, and pre-approvals for things we don’t want or need. Oh, and insurance offers. We get at least 2-3 per day for car insurance, mortgage insurance, etc. WE ARE INSURED LEAVE US ALONE.

I didn’t get the mail yesterday because it was raining (yes, really) so when I got it today, there was two days’ worth. We got exactly 1 envelope that was necessary. We also got this:

Let me bring that in a little closer for you.

Over two freaking pounds of junk mail! Yes, I weighed it. And it was not because this was “a lot.” It was because this has been going on every day, 6 days per week, and I finally had to know.

Apparently we’re averaging about a pound per day of junk mail. Six days per week. Fifty-two weeks per year. That’s 312 pounds per year of paper wasted on things that get tossed approximately 23 seconds after coming through the door.

I’m about to go all Kramer on the USPS and chop down the mailbox! Who’s with me?

3 thoughts on “Enough is enough.

  1. 2 lbs is crazy! I hate our junk mail, and I got to the point where I called one company that my in laws used and somehow was now sending mail to them and my husband to our address. 3 pieces of the same mail to the same address, on the same day, what a waste.

Leave a Reply

