Rustic Apple Pie

After my semi-project fails today, I felt the need to make a pie. Well, also because we went to an apple farm yesterday to pick our own pumpkins and came home with a big bag of honeycrisp apples. Mmm…

I thought I’d share my pie recipe because it’s a bit different from other apple pies I’ve had. It isn’t from any one recipe, but rather kind of pieced together from other recipes with my own preferred ingredient ratios. I call it rustic apple pie. Because it is kind of ugly and when something is ugly but tastes good, you call it “rustic”.

It’s basically a cross between a classic apple pie and an apple crisp. I started making it this way because I make my own crust (not a fan of store bought), but I wasn’t very good with it and could never get the top crust to work. I’m much better at making crusts now and could probably handle a double-crust pie… but this is really the best of both pie and crisp worlds in my opinion, so I just keep making it this way. Without further ado:

    Ingredients:
    Crust

1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup crisco (butter flavored)
1/4 tsp salt
4-6 tbspn ice cold water

Filling

6 apples, peeled, cored, and sliced thinly
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon

    Topping

1 cup oats
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup flour
1/2 cup butter (melted)

1. Mix flour and salt for crust in medium bowl. Add crisco and cut in with pastry cutter. Add ice cold water (I keep a cup with water and ice in it nearby) 1 tbspn at a time, and mix until just combined. Around 4tbpsn the dough will probably come together enough to form into a ball, but if not add a little more water. You want just enough water to keep the dough together, but not enough to make it sticky. Form dough into a ball and flatten into a disk, then wrap in saran wrap and refrigerate.

2. Wash, peel, and thinly slice 6 apples. Toss them into the same bowl that you used to make the dough (I’m all about not having to wash extra dishes and a few tiny crust pieces in the apples won’t matter). Add four, sugar, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Toss. Now would be a good time to turn on the oven to preheat at 425.

3. Take dough out of the refrigerator. Roll it out according to your preferred method. I like to flour the top of the disk, and also the rolling pin, then roll it out right onto the saran wrap I used to wrap it up. Roll it out to 1/4 inch, and transfer to pie pan.

4. Dump apples into pie crust and smash down so that they lay as flat as possible.

5. Put butter in microwave to melt. Meanwhile, put oats, brown sugar, and flour into (you guessed it) the same bowl you used for the crust and apples. Mix them up. Add the melted butter and mix well. Dump on top of pie, and smooth out so that it covers the whole pie.

6. Bake at 425 for 10 minutes. Turn oven down to 350 and bake for another 40-50 minutes. It is done when the crust is browned and a fork inserted into it doesn’t meet any resistance/crunchy apples.

7. Try to distract yourself by writing a blog post for the hour it will take for the pie to cool. Serve and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Rustic Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

