I <3 Pumpkin Seeds

Do you make pumpkin seeds every year at Halloween? If you don’t, you should. It is kind of ridiculously easy, but for some reason there is also wide disagreement about how it should be done. If you google recipes online for roasted pumpkin seeds you’ll find instructions about cooking them on low at 250, or high at 400, or boiling them first. There are also lots of recipes including spices and various sauces to flavor them.

In my opinion? Simple and easy is better. So here is my recipe– if you can even call it that because it is so ridiculously easy. We absolutely love pumpkin seeds, and they might even rank above pumpkin flavored coffee from Tim Horton’s to me as a favorite fall treat… which is really saying something.

Ingredients:
fresh pumpkin seeds
extra virgin olive oil
PAM spray
kosher salt

Preheat your oven to 325. As you take your seeds out of your pumpkins, try to pull off as much of the orange goop as possible, but they don’t have to be 100% clean. I always put them directly into a strainer. Once you’ve harvested them all, rinse them with cold water. At this point I try to pull off any extra orange pumpkin goop I see. Shake the strainer to get as much water as possible out, but you don’t need to dry them or let them dry.

Line a cookie sheet with tin foil, and spray with PAM (I use the extra virgin olive oil kind). If you don’t have spray, I’d just spread a little olive oil on the pan.

Pour the seeds onto the cookie sheet. They will still be a bit slimy. That’s fine. Drizzle olive oil generously over them. I never measure it, but if I was forced to guess I’d say about 1/4c per 2 cups seeds. Just put enough on that they’re mostly thinly coated. Salt generously with kosher salt (regular is fine too, but I prefer kosher). Stir the seeds around to make sure they all get coated with oil.

Bake for about 40 minutes (stirring at 15 and 30 minutes), until the seeds are dry and light brown.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

