What I’ve been up to (Dog park and Christmas shopping)

Well… there has not been much crafting going on around here lately but that doesn’t mean I’m not doing anything with my weekends. Mostly we’ve been trying to enjoy every last bit of this beautiful fall weather we’ve been having before it gets too cold!

Last weekend we took Stew to the dog park. It was the first time in kind of a long time because he hurt his back a while back and I was nervous about him running too hard. Because see… when Stew plays, he plays HARD. A few of my favorite dog park moments… I love the second pic with the other dog basically stepping on his head hahaha.

He had so much fun! Then I felt guilty for not taking him more often… Oops!

This weekend we had another beautiful Saturday so B and I headed to the outlet mall to start our Christmas shopping. Now usually I’m the type that refuses to do anything Christmas-y before Thanksgiving.

Not that I don’t love Christmas, I do! I absolutely love everything about it from the music, to the decorations, the gifts, the holiday gatherings, etc. I just like to take things one holiday at a time. But this year… well the whole world seems to have exploded in Christmas already and I can’t help but feel the Christmas vibe a bit early. I’m not decorating yet (although I might if B let me!), but I was totally excited to start our Christmas shopping.

Unfortunately we didn’t have a super great day at the outlet (buying-wise anyways). Which is probably because we didn’t have a plan, really. But we did get two gifts knocked our list, and from one of my favorite stops at the outlet, the Coach store!

The first is a scarf for my sister in law. I was totally clueless about what to buy her because I’ve not actually bought her a gift before! I mean I guess I got her gifts for her wedding shower and wedding (but those don’t really count), and for Christmases past I’ve just done joint gifts for her and my brother– mostly stuff for their house. This year though I wanted to try actually buying her something. I know she loves coach because she has several purses (at least two of which have the classic C design), and I thought this scarf was really pretty and kind of a safe-bet.

Plus, I got a great deal. Original price was $129, it was marked down to $79 because it was at the outlets, and with my 30% off coupon, it came in at $55. Perfect!

Next up was a purse for B’s sister. She loves purple and she lives in NYC, so I thought that she could use a small purse that she could keep close and wouldn’t get in the way.

And again, a great deal MSRP was $158, marked down to $149 for the outlet, and marked 50% off which made it $75.

I also went on a bit of a nail polish splurge. See, I looooove nail polish and especially somewhat fun/trendy colors. I’m not very trendy in most of my fashion choices but nail polish is cheap and easy to change. A while back my mom mentioned that she was bored of her nail polish and most of it was old, and maybe I could get her some new ones for her birthday (which is just before Thanksgiving). Talk about a fun assignment! I got a few at the outlet mall, but honestly they weren’t that great a price. Then after we had gotten back to Columbus, we stopped at Ulta (love!) and they were having a sale on their Ulta brand professional polishes, buy two get two free. I hadn’t tried it before but I tested some on one of my nails (or um, tested many on all of my nails), and it seemed like a good consistency so I decided to give it a try. Behold my mom’s new nail polish collection:

I got her three of the more expensive OPI in what I think are really classic hues, as well as the OPI base coat that I love. I also got her seven of the Ulta brand polishes including a white and pink for french manicures, a sparkly polish for weekends, and four other colors I thought she’d love. I also plan to get her a bottle of Seche Vite Dry Fast top coat, which is by far my favorite top coat. I think its a nice varied collection that should keep her in pretty nails for quite a long time.

I also decided to pick up a few polishes for the secret santa on B’s side of the family. The name I drew is B’s uncle’s girlfriend’s daughter (did you follow that? hah). I don’t know her at all. I met her once, but I don’t think I did more than say hi to her, and pretty much all I know about her is that she is a 20ish year old girl. I figured nail polish is a pretty safe gift, and a pretty fun gift when there is a lower dollar amount price cap on the gift giving. Her colors:

I did a pink/white for french manicures again because I think everyone should have that combo, and then two fun glitter polishes.

And, of course, I couldn’t go and buy all these polishes without buying any for myself, so I picked up these two super fun bottles:

You’ll notice that I got that same pink/silver sparkle polish for all three of us, that is how much I love it! I just think it is such a fun color that looks festive for the holidays, but could also work for summer. Let’s hope everyone likes glitter as much as I do!

So… that is what I’ve been up to when I’ve not been crafting. Anyone else start their holiday shopping already? Or am I totally jumping the gun here?

3 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to (Dog park and Christmas shopping)

  1. Love the dog park pictures! Which one do you go to? Good for you for getting Christmas shopping started, I should be doing that too.

Leave a Reply

