Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna

I found another new recipe I love! Better yet, this one meets the qualifications of being vegetarian (we try to eat meat-free a few times per week) and mostly healthy.

I seriously apologize for the photo. Maybe my new years resolution should be to take more photos with my real camera and less with my iPhone. The original recipe is the creation of Honey and you can find it here. She also does really great step-by-step photos so head over there if you have any questions! I didn’t realize how much we would like this, so I didn’t think to take pictures as I made it. Oops!

I made a few changes to her recipe right off (less onion, less cheese, more cilantro), just because I knew our tastes. After our first-run with this (doubtlessly new in-the-rotation) meal I have a few more things I know I’ll change for next time. For example, B loved this (ate 4 pieces!) but thought there was still a bit too much onion and thought it was too “bean”-y. I decided that I’ll probably cut more onion, leave the black beans whole to make it seem less “bean”y, add more tomato (just because we like it), and I’ll add corn because everything good is better with corn, right?!

So without further ado, my slightly-tweaked version of Honey’s Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna:

    Ingredients

Multigrain tortillas- 6
Refried Beans with Green Chilies – 1 can
Black beans – 1 can
Taco seasoning – 2 tbspn
Onion – 1/2 diced
Tomatoes- 4
Corn – 1 cup
Jalapeño – 1 (seeded and diced)
Enchilada Sauce – 1 can (19 oz can)
Mexican Blend Cheese – 1-2 bags (I think Honey used about 2, I used 1 to make it healthier)
Fresh Cilantro – 1/2 bunch

    Directions

Preheat Oven to 400 degrees

1. Finely chop 1/2 onion and 1 jalapeño pepper (seed it first!). Dice 4 tomatoes. Throw together in a bowl, and mix with 2 tbpsn taco seasoning.

2. Rinse black beans and add to tomato mixture. Add corn to tomato mixture. Cut 6 tortillas in half and set aside.

3. Spray a 9×13 pan. Pour just enough enchilada sauce in bottom of pan to lightly coat it. Layer 4 tortilla halves on bottom of pan.

4. Add 1/3 can of refried beans and spread on top of tortilla, then add 1/3 of the veggie mix, then drizzle enchilada sauce over the top. Top with 1/3 bag of cheese (or more, to your preference).

5. Repeat step 4 twice (so that you have 3 total layers).

6. After third layer, pour the rest of the enchilada sauce over the top.

7. Put in oven for 25 minutes, or until heated through and bubbly.

8. Chop cilantro, and sprinkle on top when it comes out of the oven. Let sit for 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

And that is it! It is SO good! The only tip I’d add is that if you don’t enjoy a little crunch in your onion, sauté them first. Because this is only in the oven 25 minutes, the onions get warm but not cooked through. We really liked that about it because it actually made it feel like there was pico mixed in, but if I were ever to make this for a group I would probably sauté them first because I know some people are iffy on crunchy onions.

Also– I think this is a great recipe to really get creative with. I’d never made a mexican lasagna before so it was totally new to me, but the possibilities seem endless. I could see maybe sautéing some peppers to throw in there, or really any veggie you enjoy. Plus you could try it with a different mexican sauce and completely change the whole dish. Yum!

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna

  1. Great job! Thanks for the link back. I really appreciate it. Yeah, probably a good idea to cut down on the onion and cheese if you aren’t a huge fan. More cilantro would add a lot more flavor. I’m so glad you enjoyed this dish. Yes, the possibilities are endless with this recipe. 🙂

  2. Umm, this looks amazing! I might have to try this when Andy is back in town.

    P.S. I would totally be up for coffee or a puppy walk somtime!

Leave a Reply

