Valentines/Anniversary Pt. 1

I’ve never been a fan of Valentines day, single or not. The whole thing just seems a bit forced and I’m not a huge flowers person and usually I’m still feeling broke from Christmas etc etc. But with B its been quite easy to ignore because today is also our dating anniversary.

How cheesy is that?

I have to admit, that when we agreed upon this date, for our first date, I wasn’t sure that he realized it was Valentines day and I didn’t say anything to alert him to that fact. And I also have to admit that I was more than a little tempted to go to Walmart and get an obnoxiously large bouquet of heart balloons to show up to the date with because I thought that would be hilaaaaarious. But then I realized that having only just met me, he perhaps would be less amused and more scared and I might ruin my first date with a guy I kinda sorta really liked. (Good thing I let that urge pass).

Anyways, since it is our five year dating anniversary, I thought I’d do a relationship focused meme that has been making the rounds.

1. How long have you and your significant other been together?
Five years today!

2. How did you meet? {what is your “love story”?}
Long story short: we met on match.com, had our first date at starbucks, and we lived happily ever after.

Long story medium: I’d just been through a terrible breakup with a guy I’d been with for five years (since high school), and a friend suggested to me that I should try match.com at least to have a couple first dates and figure out what the hell I was doing in this whole “dating as an adult” world, since my last first date was when I was 17 and still had a midnight curfew. I put it off for a little bit but on New Years day 2007, stuck on my couch and thoroughly hung over from too much celebratory champagne, I saw a commercial for match.com and decided… what the hell. So, I signed up. B was also going through a bad breakup and had just signed up over the holidays as well. We each went on a few dates with one other person, neither of which went well obviously. Then he messaged me. I had seen his profile before and thought he was cute but hadn’t contacted him because he said he wanted a girl who liked sports, which I was certainly not. He saw my picture and read my profile and decided he could get over the not liking sports thing. We talked online for about a week and then set two dates. First we set a date for dinner and a movie for the following Friday night. Then I said maybe we should meet for coffee before that so that if we didn’t click we weren’t forced to spend an entire evening together– I loved that I could be so honest with him right away. So, we set a date for that Wednesday which was Valentines day. There was a blizzard, the whole city was shut down, but we really wanted to meet so I dug out of my house with a cookie sheet (no shovel) and we made the date. And we closed the place down. Our second date went just as well, as did the third, fourth, fifth, etc. And then we lived happily ever after.

3. If married, how long have you been married?
Almost 1 year! Our anniversary is in just under two weeks.

4. If you are married, where did you get married? Big or small wedding?
We got married here in Columbus. It just didn’t make sense to me to try to plan a wedding far away from where we live. Our venue was an old converted warehouse type building, and it was awesome. Our wedding was smallish. I think in the end we had about 75 people there.

5. Do you have any nick-names you call each other? Do share!
Not really. We call each other honey/hun. B calls me darlin’ sometimes but only when he’s being funny. We also use goofy names sarcastically when we want something. Like “pookeybear— would you pleeeeease get me a glass of water?” lol. I dunno we’re weird.

6. Name 3 things you love most about your honey.
We are equally boring. That might not sound like a good thing, but it is! I am such an incredible homebody and I just absolutely love hanging out at home with him, watching tv, watching movies, playing games, hanging with the pets, etc. I’ve never met anyone else who enjoys being home as much as I do– until I met him. It’s so nice to be able to be my hermit-ish self and have him as happy about it as I am.

He’s really funny. He is always goofy and we spend a lot of time laughing.

He’s really sweet with our pets. They are kind of like my children– I realize I’m unnaturally obsessed with them, but I love that he is too. He kisses Stew goodbye every morning before he goes to work, I mean how cute is that seriously?

7. Tell us how he proposed?
I wanted to go to Mexico for my 25th birthday because I said birthdays don’t count if you’re out of the country for them. He proposed on the beach at sunset the first night we were there.

8. Is he a flowers and teddy bear kind of guy for v-day, or strawberries, champagne, and rose petals?
Neither. We’ve never really celebrated Valentines Day. Although I guess usually we agree not to celebrate it and then we both end up getting each other a card and some small candy anyways.

9. Are you a sunset dinner on the beach kind of girl, or pop a movie in and relax on the couch?
Definitely the latter.

10. Tell us one thing you’d like to do with your significant other one day. If you could do anything? Go anywhere?
We really want to go to Europe together at some point. A few times actually, we sort of have three distinct itineraries we’d like to hit, and I’m not sure which one we’ll do first. They are: Ireland/Germany, Greece/Turkey/Czech/, France/Italy/Spain.

11. Tell us what you plan on doing on this Valentine’s Day.
Nada. I snuck a card and some candy into his lunch today, and I also cut his sandwich into the shape of a heart. He’ll probably bring me home a card and some candy. That’s about it.

12. Are you asking for anything this Valentine’s day?
Nope.

13. Give us one piece of advice of keeping a relationship strong and full of love.
Talk. A lot. Talk about your days. Talk about your dreams. Talk about what scares you. Talk about the future. Just keep talking.

14. Show us a picture of what love means to you.

One thought on “Valentines/Anniversary Pt. 1

Leave a Reply

