Random Q and A

Stolen from one of my fav home decor blogs, Love and Renovations!

When did you start blogging?
Summer of 2006. My then-boyfriend had been deployed overseas and I was super bored, and had also just discovered blogs existed… so I gave it a try. I’ve had like five blogs I think? But they didn’t usually last very long before I forgot about them. Oops.

What’s your blogging routine?
I’d say a consistent cycle of neglect and guilt…. haha. Only kind of kidding there. I don’t really have any set routine because I have a hard time posting when I don’t have anything to say. My goal, always, is to post about three times per week. Sometimes I forget for a few weeks, or months. Sometimes I post like five times.

What’s the best food you’ve ever eaten?
Wow… that is a super hard question! Mostly because I tend to like really non-impressive food. Like, I’d pick chipotle over a 5 star dinner any night of the week. But if we’re talking about food that stands out in my memory as a one-time experience of awesomeness… I’ll pick these few:
– The cheese dip from Alero in Dupont Circle, DC
– The caprese appetizer from my MOH’s wedding (which was at the St. Regis in Atlanta)
– The tropical dreams ice cream we ate on our honeymoon in Kauai

What kind of travel plans do you have for the rest of 2012?
In May we are headed to NYC for a whirlwind weekend celebrating B’s sister’s graduation from her masters program. In June we’re headed to Rodanthe, NC for a vacation with my parents and brother. Other than that, we have no plans. I’ve sort of lost my wanderlust lately, and with Milo’s ongoing health problems I’m just not that inclined to plan vacations out of those we’re obligated to by family. (Although, we might always sneak a weekend visit to Atlanta in there at some point to see my MOH/her husband– it’s been a yearly tradition for 3 years now and we’d hate to break the streak!).

What’s your favorite thing about the city where you live?
Just one? Call me crazy, but I love Columbus! I guess if I had to pick ONE thing I’d say the layout of the city. I love that Columbus is a real city (in that it has a downtown area, museums, several theaters, concert venues, etc), but it is mostly comprised of suburbs. I like that I can be downtown in 15 minutes, or in corn fields in 10. I like that traffic here, even when it sucks, is never as bad as it was in Cleveland or DC. If I can vote for a runner-up though, I’d say the cost of living. Midwestern housing prices rock.

When someone asks you where you’re from, do you tell them the place you were born, the place you grew up, or the place where you currently live?
Well, the place where I was born and where I grew up is the same– ‘burbs of Cleveland. But as for this question, I’d say it depends on the context. If I’m meeting someone for the first time and I’m out of town– I assume they want to know where I came from. I.e. where I live now. Columbus. But if I’m talking to someone who obviously knows that I live in Columbus and they ask, I assume they meant where I came from before I moved here, and I say Cleveland.

What project are you most proud of?
Strangely enough… I think it might be my faux frosted-glass door project. What I loved about this project is that the outcome was great, it was SUPER cheap to do, and I did it all by myself. My favorite project has probably been the backsplash, but I think I’m most proud of the door since I did that on my own.

What are some of your favorite blogs to read?
I actually don’t read *that* many! At least not compared to people who say they have hundreds of blogs in their reader. I tend to try a lot of blogs but if I don’t find the person writing to be really interesting I get tired of them easily.

My favorite home decor blogs are Young House Love (of course!), and Love and Renovations.

My favorite random life blogs are Joy Unexpected and The Bloggess.

My favorite food blog is Sweetopolita.

My favorite super random blogs are Swistle (all about baby names. Even though I am not planning to become pregnant any time soon. Weird, I know.) and Cooper Beehive (amazing tattoo artist in Brooklyn).

What’s your favorite book?
Oy. Is it a cop out to say… the last one I read? Really every time I read a book that I love, it becomes my favorite until I read another book I love. And this is actually a bit of a sore spot for me right now because I *just* finished reading the Harry Potter series and I’m heart broken that they’re over. Nevertheless, I guess if we’re going to pick a book that I’ve actually read multiple times and continue to love (and assuming it counts as a book even though its a play?) I’ll say A Midsummer Nights Dream.

What are you most looking forward to about this summer?
Hm… as a person who no longer gets summer break, and who actually much prefers winter weather to summer… summer isn’t really as much of a longed-for treat for me as it is for many. But, I guess if I’m going to pinpoint something I’ll say our vacation to NC.

What kind of exercise do you most enjoy?
The kind I don’t have to do? hah. I have never really found exercise that I actually ENJOY doing. Although I did just order a new Zumba for xbox game which is proving to be not-too-bad.

And that’s it! Feel free to answer the questions yourselves on your own blogs, and also— give me suggestions for what to read next! I feel like I’ve read a lot of really good books in the past year (the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, the Hunger Games series, and the Harry Potter series)… I feel like I”m going to go through with withdrawals from awesomely entertaining books!

2 thoughts on “Random Q and A

  1. Love this post – I’m such a huge fan of these little Q&A style posts…it’s so fun to read all the little random tidbits! I’m reading the Game of Thrones series (the series is technically called A Song of Fire & Ice, but everyone knows it by the show, Game of Thrones), and it’s so good! It was hard for me to get into at first because I had been reading a lot of light, YA books and this one is by no means light or an “easy” read, but it’s such a good story! If you need another series, I definitely recommend it!

  2. Hm.. good suggestion but I’m not sure I can do that series 🙂 We tried watching the show and I really didn’t like it. I kind of need a happy ending every now and then. The show was just soooo depressing lol.

Leave a Reply

