My addiction…

I love netflix.

It is basically the best invention ever.

When they pulled a kamikaze and decided to double everyone’s subscription fees, we ditched the dvd rental side and stuck with just the instant streaming… which is really what it is best for anyways. I think the thing with netflix is that you have to manage your expectations. It is not the best site to rely on for movies because their selection is sparse and always changing. But for for tv shows? Rocks.

I think if it weren’t for B’s addiction to sports I could be completely content getting rid of cable all together. I like to find a series and watch it exclusively until I finish it. My favorite are series that are already over so that I know I’ll get to see the whole thing start to finish. Once you start using netflix it is kind of hard to switch back to only 13-ish shows per year, right?

Anyways, I’ve about come to the end of the series I had queued and I’m looking for some new material. I thought I’d do a top-10 list of my favorite series in the hopes some of you might give them a try, and maybe you can make some suggestions for me on what to watch next? (Update: Top 14 because I couldn’t cut four more out)

14. How I Met Your Mother- We just started this a few weeks ago. I’ll admit I didn’t really love it at first. The basic premise pisses me off because I know that we’re like 8 seasons in with no mother in sight… but if you can forget what the show is supposed to be about and just enjoy it as a comedy, it’s kind of hilarious.

13. Roseanne- Probably a personal thing… but I freaking love Roseanne. It’s a very nostalgic show for me and I loved watched the whole thing start to finish.

12. Weeds- If this show had quit after the first three seasons, it’d probably be in my top 5. I loooooved the first three seasons, and it has kind of gone steadily down hill from there. But, it is still worth watching in my opinion (even if I do kind of really hate the main character at this point).

11. Mad Men- Who doesn’t love sexist assholes who drink too much, smoke too much, and cheat on their wives? I guess it doesn’t SOUND very good… but it is actually amazing.

10. Medium- Try not to judge me here. I know it is cheesy, but I actually really loved this series. It has a good mix of new crime stories every episode and ongoing story-lines with the main characters and their families.

9. Nip/Tuck- Totally unbelievable and verging on soft-core p-rn, but still that kind of show where you just have.to.know. what happens next. It’s kind of like a soap opera for non-housewives.

8. Roswell- The first display of my obsession with teen drama. I won’t even apologize. Teenagers, aliens, I mean come on– this is quality tv here.

7. Greek- This was a show I hadn’t even heard of prior to netflix. It is about sororities and frats, the kind of thing I’d usually completely skip because there isn’t enough drama. But, for some reason we decided to give it a shot and it was actually great in a completely light-hearted kind of way.

6. Prison Break- I was SO excited to see this on netflix. I began watching it when it first aired, but after the first season I was too busy with law school to ever tune in again. It’s almost a good thing because this show is so intense that I think that watching it all over a few weeks rather than a few years really helps keep you engaged (and also from getting angry at all the freaking cliffhangers!)

5. Sons of Anarchy- B had to talk me into watching this. A motorcycle gang? Meh. But it had enough dude-stuff for him and enough murder and mystery for me that it quickly became one of my favorite shows. We watched the first two seasons in ONE week.

4. Breaking Bad- I loved it. Then I hated it. Then I loved it again. This is another one that is kind of rough if you NEED to like the main character (I usually do). But, the supporting cast is so good that I was able to love this show despite hating the main dude. I can’t wait for the next season to come out!

3. Rescue Me- One of my first netflix series, and still one of my very favorites. My brother always told me how good this show was but it seemed like the kind of thing you needed to start from the beginning. I love Dennis Leary so this was a no-brainer, and it delivered on every level (comedy, drama, family stuff, guys without shirts… it hits all the bases)

2. Friday Night Lights- Football? Me? YES. I don’t even know why I loved this show so much. It is everything that usually annoys me (sports and conservative Texans)… and yet somehow it was still awesome. Awesome enough that it earned the #2 spot on my favorites list.

1. Veronica Mars- I don’t know that I’ve ever been more obsessed with a show than Veronica Mars. I just… want to be her. I don’t think you can like crime shows and be a girl and not LOVE this show because Veronica is just so kick-ass. And even guys love this show! I started watching the first season alone, assuming B would be uninterested. But about 4 or 5 episodes in he happened to be hanging out on his computer one day when I turned it on and he quickly got obsessed too. I kind of hate seeing Kristen Bell in anything else now, she IS Veronica Mars!

So there ya go– my top 14 (random!) favorite Netflix instant streaming series. What am I not watching? Are there any awesome shows I haven’t already seen?

8 thoughts on “My addiction…

  1. I like that you have a good range of shows! I would suggest (if you haven’t already seen them) Lost, The Wire, The Killing, and ummm (don’t judge) Vampire Diaries.

  2. Love the list! Some suggestions: Supernatural and warehouse 13, although Supernatural is still on tv, but the first season is like watching a mini scary movie

  3. @Valerie- Um, do you see all the teen dramas on my list? I have no room to judge! lol I will totally check those out. The only one I’m iffy on is Lost. From what I hear it has a crappy ending and that bums me out haha.

    @Amanda- I haven’t even heard of those two! That’s so exciting. Totally adding to the queue.

  4. Hmmm I didn’t know that some of those were on Netflix – I’m gonna have to look them up! I TOTALLY agree with you on Weeds – it was amazing at first but is pretty awful now. I definitely second Supernatural – one of the best movies EVER! Have you ever watched Gilmore Girls? I don’t know if it’s on Netflix but it’s hands down the best show that was ever on television in the history of the world – no exaggeration. πŸ™‚ We also just finished watching Lost on Netflix, and we’re currently watching HIMYM too!

  5. @amanda- I’ve had netflix for almost 2 years so it is possible maybe some of the series have been removed? But I watched all of them on netflix. And seriously– wtf is wrong with Nancy in season 7? I want to hit her. And YES I have seen gilmore girls. I watched every single episode like twice when it was on ABC family, I loooooved that show! I didn’t realize it was on netflix. Maybe I should watch it all again just for the hell of it πŸ™‚

  6. Scrubs is also on Netflix. I never got into it until I was on maternity leave without cable and it was on twice a day. Also in our Instant Queue: The Tudors, Quantum Leap (for some old school fun, lol), Gray’s Anatomy, Glee, Jersey Shore (don’t judge), My So-Called Life, Parenthood, The Office, That 70’s Show, Saved By The Bell, and The Biggest Loser.

    Wow. What in the world would I do without Netflix?! LMAO

  7. And, by the way, It’s 4:05 pm here in good old Fairborn, Ohio. Not sure why it says my comment was made at 8:01 pm. Maybe Future Anna did it and I just don’t know it yet?! Did I just make a Quantum Leap?! Awesomeness. LOL

  8. @anna- I watched scrubs. I liked it, but it didn’t make the list. And I watch Gray’s, J-Shore (no judgment here!), and The Office as they air so i’m all caught up there. I also watched Parenthood which I DID really like but there are only 2 seasons on netflix so far and I feel like I’m just starting to get into it. I haven’t heard of The Tudors or Quantum Leap so maybe I’ll give those a try πŸ™‚ Also– it always does that with the time stamp. I think it thinks I’m in England? And I don’t know how to fix it. I’m not so tech savvy lol.

Leave a Reply

