Lawyer Voice

A friend of mine is a third grade teacher, and she loves taking flip cam videos of her classes because she loves them so much. The first time she showed one of them to me, I was so startled when I heard her talk to her class– she talked like a teacher! It was then that I realized that all of my teachers growing up probably didn’t talk like that in their normal lives…. but the Teacher Voice is something that most teachers develop after a bit of time spent in the classroom.

Today I realized I have a Lawyer Voice. And I also realized it might be the most valuable thing I got out of this whole law school deal.

Long story short, we bought our leather reclining sofa at Macys last year. It was NOT cheap. We purchased a 7 year warranty that covered the structure/mechanics. Then our couch broke. Then we found out they rang up the wrong warranty for us (the one you usually buy with cloth sofas) when we checked out, and our problem was not covered under this warranty.

I talked to two people about this on Friday and was promised a call back today. I got a call this morning from a manager who told me that the company that handles the warranties is a third party vendor (i.e. not Macys itself), and they won’t allow coverage on any non-new furniture. So there was nothing they could do, sorry. Our couch was no longer new and thus it would not be covered by this warranty now or moving forward.

That’s when I whipped out the Lawyer Voice (which I think is really actually pretty similar to the Teacher Voice— a beat slower than usual and polite but firm). I explained that we had purchased a very expensive couch (our second from them, actually) with a 7 year warranty covering structure and mechanics, and that was what we were going to get. One way or another (useful phrase). They could choose to honor the warranty we were told we were purchasing, give us a new couch that could be covered by a warranty, or deal with the better business bureau after I filed a claim against them for fraud. But regardless, this was their mistake and not ours–therefore they needed to fix the problem.

About ten minutes later I got a call. Apologies all around and I’ll be receiving a call later this week to schedule the pick-up of our old couch and the delivery of a brand new couch which will be covered by a 7 year warranty.

Happy! It honestly took far less fighting than I anticipated, and I’m glad we discovered the problem now vs at year 6 when they might be less likely to fix it. I am slightly annoyed at Macys for first giving us the wrong warranty, and then trying to claim that there was nothing they could do to fix it. But I’m impressed that in the end they are willing to give us a new couch to make the problem right.

And also, I’m happy that today (unlike many days, unfortunately lol) I felt like all the time spent in law school and being a lawyer actually created a good end-result! haha.

3 thoughts on “Lawyer Voice

  1. Yay for the Lawyer Voice! I’m glad it worked out for you! I definitely have a “teacher voice” and my husband laughs at me when I accidentally bust it out in non-teaching situations – like when kids make me angry at the grocery store or something, haha.

  2. Yay for the Lawyer Voice coming in handy! I don’t have the Lawyer Voice, or the Teacher Voice (yet!), but I definitely have the Mom Voice. My husband hates it when I “accidentally” use it on him! lol 🙂

  3. @loveandrenovations- too funny. You need to whip those grocery store kids into shape! haha.

    @anna- I forgot about Mom Voice!! that totally fits too. What’s weird is that I’m not sure that guys really develop these voices as much as women do? But maybe that’s because we’re generally nicer than they are in our private lives haha.

Leave a Reply

