Mom’s pasta sauce

Unfortunately no photos to go along with this recipe because I wasn’t planning on keeping it! My parents were in town this weekend and my mom made us dinner last night with an awesome (and healthy) pasta sauce. I didn’t want to forget how she made it so I thought I ought to write it down somewhere I won’t lose it. This seemed as good a place as any.

Ingredients:
2 tbspn olive oil
1 large onion
3 peppers
2 cloves garlic
2 large cans San Marzano whole tomatoes
salt, italian seasoning, red chili pepper to taste
lots of fresh basil

Dice onion and three peppers and saute in olive oil about ten minutes. Add garlic (I’d add more but my dad doesn’t love garlic) and saute another few minutes. Add the two cans of tomatoes and chop up the whole tomatoes a bit with the spatula (they fall apart easily). Add salt italian seasoning, and red chili pepper flakes. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 1 hour. Add lots of julienned fresh basil right before serving. So good!

Leave a Reply

