Mom’s Tortilla Soup

It’s recipe day! As per usual, it’s less that I think you care about my recipe than the fact that I suck at keeping track of recipes so if I really like something that isn’t pin-able it’s easiest for me to keep it on my own blog. But hey– if you want to give it a try (and you really should) and happen to like it? All the better!

This is my mom’s recipe and I don’t know where she got it. I think it was one of those things she just made one day when throwing things together and it turned out so good it made it into the rotation. I recommend making it for a group because it makes a LOT. We’ve eaten 5 bowls between the two of us and I think I’m going to freeze the rest for another dinner (or two) because you can only eat so much soup in a week.

soup

 

Ingredients:

1lb chicken cooked and shredded or cubed

2 peppers (any color– I used red and yellow)

1 large onion

1 jalapeno, seeded (optional, I didn’t use it)

1 cup combined chopped carrots and celery (optional, I didn’t use)

1 can black beans, rinsed

1 cup corn

1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes

2 chopped adobo peppers (from a can)

6 cups chicken broth (1.5 boxes)

1 tspn. taco seasoning, chili powder, garlic powder

Garnishes: fresh cilantro, fresh lime, cheese, tortilla chips

 

Instructions:

Sprinkle raw chicken with chili powder and garlic powder (also cumin if you want) and cook however you want. I cooked in a pan with a little olive oil. Remove chicken and chop. Saute peppers and onion in some olive oil in the bottom of a soup pot. Once they’re translucent/soft, add all the other ingredients except garnishes. Simmer for 30-60 minutes. Serve and garnish with shredded cheese, a squeezed wedge of lime, fresh cilantro, and crushed tortilla chips. Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

