(Healthy) Creamy Basil Dip

I’m not big on cooking. And I almost never make up recipes more complicated than maybe adding some diced chilis to my taco meat. But somehow I was inspired today. My basil has been going crazy outside and I haven’t had cause to use it. I was thinking of what I could eat with basil that sounded good and I thought about this amazing basil dip a local greek restaurant makes. I have no idea what is in it except that it tastes like basil and it is creamy, so I presume it is a yogurt base. The restaurant is all the way on the other side of town so we never go there to eat, and so I thought what the hell. Why not give it a try?!

Shockingly, it was not only edible but pretty delicious! So I thought I would share. Gather your ingredients. Pretty basic. Except for the large(ish) quantity of basil, you probably have everything already. And if you grow your own basil, you’re set!

IMG_8480

That’s greek yogurt, extra virgin olive oil, garlic, salt, basil, and vinegar. Now layer everything in your food processor or blender (I used a magic bullet). I was too lazy to chop of the basil so i just tore it roughly so it would fit. 1/2 cup yogurt, 1 tablespoon oil, 1/8 tspn salt, 1 garlic clove minced, 1/2 tbspn vinegar, and a whole bunch o’ basil (probably around 1 cup).

IMG_8483

IMG_8486

Then blend the shiz out of it until it is all mixed up. That’s it! It tasted pretty good immediately, but I stuck it in the fridge for a few hours while I figured out what to eat with it and it was even better later. I wasn’t sure what to eat it with or on, so on a whim I decided to google how to make pita. I figured it was probably too hard or I wouldn’t have the stuff, but I was totally wrong! I found this post and realized I already had all of the ingredients (flour, sugar, salt, yeast, oil) and that it actually looked pretty easy. It took a bit of time because you have to let it rise, but it was early enough in the day I didn’t mind.  I followed her directions exactly, but my pita didn’t puff. Not sure what I did wrong there (maybe not knead it long enough?) but it still tasted really good and i didn’t plan to fill it, so whatever!

IMG_8487

 

Creamy Basil Dip Recipe

1/2 cup fat free greek yogurt
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 tablespoon white vinegar
1 cup basil

Instructions: Put everything in a food processor or small blender and blend the crap out of it until smooth.

Servings: 4

Nutrition: 30 calories, 3.5 g fat, 3 g protein

 

Leave a Reply

