Fiona: 2 months

Wow– two months already! Here we go!

IMG_0345

Stats: Fiona was 12lb 0oz and 23 inches at her 2 month appointment! She’s 60th percentile for both height and weight, so perfectly proportional (something I don’t think I’ve ever been!) and right about average.

IMG_0308

Clothing Size: Fiona has started to outgrow some of her 0-3 month stuff, although that is also partially because of her cloth diapers (which we started in week 5). She also fits solidly into a lot of her 3 month stuff at this point.

IMG_0032

Sleep: Fiona continues to be awesome in the night sleep department. She started getting on a pretty regular schedule of sleeping 10-5, waking to nurse, and then going back down until 7. The last week she has been sleeping until 8! We’re considering trying to move her bed time up a bit earlier because she seems to get tired around 8pm and and it would be nice to have some extra time with B in the evenings. We did put her down at 8pm last night because she was falling asleep, and it went horribly (she fell right asleep but then woke up at 3:30am to eat and never went fully back to sleep after that!)— but she had had her vaccines at her appointment yesterday and was definitely feeling the effects all day. Today we put her down again at 9, but I think we might try moving her back to 8 again some time soon. Naps are a bit hit or miss. I’m trying to do a 3 hour EASY (eat, activity, sleep, you) schedule with her, which some days works perfectly… and some days doesn’t work at all. Getting her down for a nap is rarely a problem anymore, but I’ve noticed that when she sleeps for 1-1.5 hours she wakes up happy and our day goes on very well. When she wakes up after 30-40 minutes it is pretty much impossible to put her back to sleep, but she is still cranky and tired. When that happens it often sets us off on a bad foot for the rest of the day because then she is overtired and continues to not sleep or eat well. I have not yet figured out how to fix the problem– but I am working at it!

Screen Shot 2014-07-19 at 10.42.37 PM

Eating: Biggest challenge by far this month. It sucked. Really bad. I can’t even get into it in this post… except maybe to summarize and say that I think I’m done breastfeeding. And I’m really sad about it.

Milestones: I feel like Fiona has changed so much this month! She started making really good eye contact and smiling more and more. In the last week or two she started “talking” a lot too, and her coos are adorable. She can now track us with her eyes, and she watches as I move around her when she’s on her play mat. She flails and kicks a lot, and while she isn’t “reaching and grabbing” yet… she does sometimes get hold of one of her toys and hold onto it and seems to find that very funny. She’s also doing much better on tummy time, and when I hold her stomach she can sit up really well! We also tried her bumbo for the first time today and she did so well! She’s a strong little girl!

bumbo

Things I Want to Remember: So much this month! I feel like this month Fiona got really fun. As soon as she started smiling we started having a real two-way relationship. She follows me more with her eyes and she smiles really big when I “boop” her nose. She also loves when I sing “I love you a Bushel and a Peck” to her, and she loooves watching the fan. She’ll just smile and smile and kick and kick watching that fan go around and around. I also want to remember this month for breastfeeding. For a brief period I thought that we’d worked through our feeding issues and we got into a good breastfeeding routine. I never thought I’d be one of those people who was into breastfeeding for the bond, but I’ll admit that there is something that is just so incredibly sweet about how content she was when feeding. It was a contentment beyond anything else I can do for her, and when she was satisfied she’d pull away with her eyes closed and the sweetest happy look on her face. I will most certainly miss that!

Outings/Adventures: We took Fiona to her first social outing! One of our good friends had a bbq for July 4 and we took Fiona along– she did great! We managed to stay there from about 4-8, and I even managed to feed her there (first time I’d breastfed her outside of our home or the hospital). I was so glad she managed to nap and hang out while out, it made me feel like going out is a little bit more do-able.

Screen Shot 2014-07-19 at 10.42.25 PM

Favorites: Fiona’s favorite things are the fan in our bedroom, the giraffe that hangs from her play mat, and when you sing to her or talk to her in silly voices. My favoritest thing ever (in life) is when I do something she thinks is funny and breaks into a huuuuge toothless grin and gives me a coo that is almost a laugh. I love making that kid happy. B’s favorite thing is “talking” with her. He sits her up on his legs and she coo’s and he coo’s back and it’s like they have a little conversation. So cute. Also when he sings journey to her.

What I’ve Learned: The importance of naps! Fiona really needs to be PUT to sleep with a routine and not just left to fall asleep on her own, even for naps, and I’ve learned that when she is well rested she is a super happy baby. I haven’t quite figured out how to make sure she is well rested all the time, but I’m working on it! I also think that this month, now that I’m feeling that I’m more on top of this whole “mom” thing and not just trying to survive each day, I realized how much I really want to remember all the details of this time in our life. It’s entirely possible that Fiona may be our only baby and she is already growing so damn fast! On one hand I love it because every day she is more fun than the day before (well– there is certainly an upward trend, but some days she is just a cranky pants lol). On the other hand I know that I’ll miss when she could fit snuggly on my shoulder or in my arms. Last month I wrote how I wanted to remember the snuggles, and I’m glad I enjoyed them while they were happening because Fiona has already become a far less snuggly baby. I think I need to remember daily, and not just once a month, to try to enjoy all the time I have with her right now.

IMG_0033

Leave a Reply

