Fiona : 7 Months

IMG_3998

Stats: Not sure. We haven’t weighed her since her 6 mo doctor’s appointment. She doesn’t seem to have put on much chub though, so I’d guess not that much. Maybe 16.5 pounds.

IMG_4045

Clothing Size: Same! She needs 6-9 and 9 month clothes for length in the smaller brands of onesies and in pretty much all sleepers, but she still easily fits into 6 mo pants and some of the larger 6 mo onesies. Still in size 2 diapers.

IMG_4217

Sleep: Big changes here! Right at 6 months we had a r-o-u-g-h few nights where Fiona decided that since I was rocking her throughout all of her naps, she’d really rather I just rock her all. night. long. too. Seriously every time I’d put her down for bed she’d cry. If I rocked her to sleep and put her down she’d stay asleep for maybe 30 minutes or so then wake up crying. The first night I just sat up all night rocking her and B stayed home from work so I could sleep the next day. The second night I sat up until 4am, and decided to do what I said I’d never do– cosleep with her (in our guest bed that I totally stripped down because I was so paranoid). She slept some, I didn’t. Night 3 we started cosleeping about 2am and I slept a little bit more but still not very well and it still made me nervous. Thats when we decided it was time to do some legit sleep training. I had really REALLY wanted to avoid any sort of “cry it out” sleep training because Fiona crying just breaks my heart, but realistically it was our only option. I could not go on not getting any sleep all night. We waited two more sleepless nights (because I wanted to wait until after Fiona had her 6 month shots) and started Ferber training. The first night was pretty rough at bed time, but after that she slept almost all night long without waking up, holy cow! In the last month, I haven’t rocked her to sleep once. I haven’t rocked her in the middle of the night once (although after 5am all bets are off, and some mornings I do still rock her if she gets up early so that she’ll sleep a little bit more). It has been amazing. At this point she almost always goes to sleep at night within a few minutes and with zero crying, and she wakes at night maybe 1-3 times for her paci (which she finds by herself about half the time). Totally totally worth sleep training! Since that went so well, and since I was still rocking her for all naps, we started nap training at 6.5 months. That was a little bit longer process. It took a full week before things started to get pretty good, but at this point I’m really pleased with how naps are going. She is on three naps per day and almost always she falls asleep super fast and with no crying for naps 1 and 2. Sometimes she has a hard time falling asleep for nap 3 and I do still rock her for that nap if necessary.

IMG_4193

Eating: Fiona is doing AWESOME. The last two weeks we have moved to doing four 8 oz bottles per day and she is actually EXCITED to eat. Like she smiles so big when she sees us shaking up her bottle– it is amazing to see her excited about bottles, and she finishes almost all of them! She’s still doing great eating pretty much anywhere in our house and any time (when she’s hungry) regardless of nap schedule. Also she is doing so well eating from other people! She will eat for B for any meal, and when B’s mom was with us this past week she ate great for her too! She does still need a quiet distraction free room and a warm bottle, but we can totally roll with those requirements! As for solids, things are about the same. We’ve tried more foods in the past month. She’s now had (off the top of my head): Avocado, sweet potato, butternut squash, snow peas, carrots, oatmeal, blueberry, raspberry, pears, apples, bananas, kiwi. She still isn’t really into consuming a ton of food, but she does great at tasting things and is getting better at chewing them up. The only things she seems moderately excited to eat are pears, bananas, and avocado.

IMG_4177

Milestones: She is still working on the sitting up thing. She is certainly capable of sitting up for extended periods of time and balances really well, but doesn’t seem to understand that when she wants to lay down she needs to get down carefully or risk smacking herself in the head. So…. for now we still only let her sit up with help because she doesn’t actually like sitting up all that much and so she still frequently flops over and then gets angry if there isn’t something soft for her to land on. The big news though is that little girl is trying to get on the move! About a week ago I walked into her bedroom after getting her bath ready and she was up on hands and feet with her little booty in the air! The next day she started regularly getting up on hands/knees and rocking. She hasn’t successfully crawled yet but she is practicing her crawling and bear crawling every day and I am betting she’ll do it before my next monthly update!

all 4s

Things I Want to Remember: How fun she is! She’s starting to anticipate things and remember games. When we do peekaboo she starts laughing before we even get to “boo” and if she’s close enough to your face she tries to pull your hands away for you. She gets excited when we get a bottle ready. She gives me the biggest smiles every morning when I first get up and say good morning to her (B usually gets up with her and I get up about an hour later) and gives her dad the biggest smiles ever every night when he comes home from work. Also she started doing this thing where she sticks her tongue out when she’s happy and it’s really really cute.

tongue out

Outings/Adventures: Nothing too terribly adventurous this month, although we’re doing better and better about getting back to life as usual. Fiona really does great going out to restaurants now (although we still always aim for mid-afternoon to avoid long waits) and we can run errands as needed. I took her out for some Christmas shopping at the mall with a friend and she did great, and we went to see Santa. She didn’t love him, but she didn’t cry either so I consider that a win. We also had a bit of chaos in our house this month with Thanksgiving and my MIL staying with us for 10 days, capped off by “Christmas” with B’s whole family at our house. We had a few missed naps but she was a trooper throughout!

2014 pic with santa Small

Favorites: Stew continues to be Fiona’s favorite thing ever. Also anything that she can chew on, of course. She’s also l-o-v-i-n-g her jumper. She’s really gotten the hang of jumping and loves working out some energy a few times per day. My favorite is just her. She’s so fun. I love her smiles and giggles and how hard she works at learning new things. She is just awesome.

IMG_4084

What I’ve Learned: Babies are fun. And babies who eat without drama and nap without a ridiculous amount of work are sort of… (knock on wood?)… easy? Maybe it is just in contrast to what we’ve been dealing with the last several months, but I almost don’t know what to do with myself now that I’m not spending most of my day planning and working towards Fiona eating and sleeping. I’m sure that there are new challenges coming down the line but for right now, life seems comparatively easy and it is pretty great.

IMG_4058

Leave a Reply

